Home NaijaGist Facebook implements new advertising rule to combat fake news for 2019 elections

Facebook implements new advertising rule to combat fake news for 2019 elections

Nigerian and other countries will be having their general elections this year and social media giants, Facebook has made it known that some of its political advertising rules and tools will be stretched to check the spread of fake news and foreign interference.

Facebook has been lambasted in recent times for being a tool used to spread of fake news and foreign interference due to its rather weak policies that allows politicians place sponsored ads that can widen their audience for them to propel their sometimes, disturbing agendas.

Nigeria, India, Ukraine and the European Union, are some places where elections are set to hold this 2019, hence the need for Facebook implement several initiatives to curb excesses in political ads.

An official statement read:

“In the coming months, we’ll be rolling out additional protections ahead of upcoming elections.

“Nigeria and Ukraine: We’ll temporarily expand enforcement and not accept foreign electoral ads around their elections, starting with Nigeria on January 16”.

Facebook also stated that an ad library will be launched. Also, they plan to enforce authorizations and launch some transparency tools, ahead of the Indian general elections and the EU elections in May.

The company stated: “By shining a light on political ads, news organizations, regulators, watchdog groups and people anywhere in the world can hold advertisers and us more accountable”.

Leave a Reply

Must Read

“Rotimi Williams” Nigerian Youth Who Owns Nigeria’s 2nd Largest Rice Farm

Rotimi Williams, an ambitious 35-year-old Nigerian entrepreneur and rice farmer, is striving to change the fact that Nigerians consume more than 5...

Onye Inaputara – Yadah

Gospel music singer Yadah releases the official video to her previously released single Onye Inaputara that has gained massive acceptance with few weeks of release. “Onye...

Eyan Jesu – Mike Abdul + MoniQue + Bidemi Olaoba + A’dam

Cheers! to Spaghetti Records as they celebrate the 8th Anniversary of tapping into the innate abilities of their artistes and gifting them to the...

World Famous Celebrities You Never Knew Were Nigerians

Nigerians are known for their passion of travelling abroad. They not only survive in any of these countries but become successful and...

Naijazzy Famous And Interesting People – Mo Abudu

On today’s edition of Naijazzy Famous and Interesting people, we have Nigerian’s foremost media mogul, Mosunmola Abudu popularly known as Mo Abudu....